Fitness Assessment Day

Metrics rule!  Get it?

Metrics rule! Get it?

Today was my first day back with my trainer and I was looking forward to a good ass kicking. Instead, today was Fitness Assessment Day. I knew it was coming and my husband already went through the tests weeks ago.

Overall I think I did well. I really couldn’t attempt the handstand, so we just did a modified downward dog for that. The biggest obstacle for me right now is just the mass of extra weight. I’m super strong, pretty flexible, and seem to be doing well at the dynamic parts of fitness. But, I’m doing all these things wearing the equivalent of a weighted vest and the manifestation of a shirt full of balloons I can’t pop. It makes me happy to see how far I’ve come, and a little frustrated to see how far I need to go.

Keeping my routine up will be important, but it’s time to really go back to the drawing board with diet and nutrition. I know I could be doing better and I know I let meals slide, both on skipping them, and with eating the wrong things because I think I can get away with it. I can get away with it when it comes to maintenance, but not with progression. And drinking wine and eating dessert aren’t doing me any real favors!

So that’s where I’m at. Let’s see what I do with it.

Leave a Reply

