Equipment Malfunction

I completed the Resolution Run 5K this weekend, despite being totally unprepared. Seriously, the night before I was drinking a margarita, munching on tortilla chips saying “Oh crap! 5K tomorrow! I have to be up at 5 to eat!”

I kept thinking this was a terrible idea that morning while getting ready, and stepping outside the house to rain only made me regret it even more. But we parked just before the sun came up and miraculously it stopped raining. I set up my iPod and got ready to rock it.

20130109-232406.jpg

My pace was good, I bunny hopped around slow people and chose a guy to chase. Around mile 1 I could tell my feet were sliding around too much and I felt the start of a blister on the right ball of my foot. By the half way turn around I was starting to lose my quarry because my pace was slipping from the blister forming. At mile 2 I noticed the left foot felt like it was also blistering. I passed mile 3 and the right blister popped. I passed a couple I couldn’t quite get ahead of, finally and pushed through the finish.

Happily, I got a Finisher’s medal! Unhappily, I limped my way back to the car to wait for my husband to finish the 15K. I checked my sock and it was wet with blood and whatever else blisters are made of. My time wasn’t a PR , but considering I was pretty unhappy with my feet, I’ll take it.

I hobbled around the rest of the day, woke up shortly after falling asleep with my feet in fiery pain that kept me up. But it passed, I’m better, and I bought new shoes today. Also, I’m seeing a new podiatrist for insoles next week.

20130109-232443.jpg

One thought on “Equipment Malfunction

  1. Blisters are really really annoying. Great thing that you went and ran! That’s the main point isn’t it, just going. And hey, I have a Liebster-award for you in my blog!

Leave a Reply

