Friend Makin’ Monday: Five Things

It’s still barely Monday here in San Diego, so I’m getting it in under the wire. I’ve been a terrible blogger lately. I had what I think was a strain of Flu B for the past 2 weeks. Flu B is generally not in the vaccine we get every year and isn’t as deadly as Flu A, but is still annoying and lingering. I’m feeling better, but not up to 100% yet.

ANYWAY, I love participating in Friend Makin’ Mondays. Here’s the deal. Answer these questions on your own blog, then post a link over at All The Weigh. That way, the super cool people over there can come visit your blog.

So here are some things you probably didn’t know about me, even if you know me in the flesh.
five-273639

Five things

1. Share five things you hope to do before you die.
* Design a future home, from the beginning to end of new construction.
* Make my own wine.
* Swim with dolphins in the wild.
* Learn how to sing.
* Make an impact on the world that will carry on after I’m gone.

2. List five things you love about yourself.
* I love my freckles. Although I’m a natural brunette, my grandmother’s generation are all redheads, and I have the coloring. She taught me to love my freckles.
* I have a crazy memory. It’s not eidetic, but I have great sound recall and can visualize past events really well. My friends sometimes hate it.
* I’m tragically loyal to the people I love.
* I’m really, really strong.
* I see people’s potential. Even when they don’t see it themselves.

3. Share the five coolest things that you’ve done in 2013.
* I’ve finished 3 5k’s already, including beating my PR.
* I became President of my sorority’s alumnae group.
* I took a bunch of kids to Disneyland on my Silver Pass.
* I embarrassed by husband by getting Hello Kitty floor mats for my car.
* I had dinner with a former boss who was in town. She was a great inspiration for 20-something me when I worked for her. It was great to reconnect and get re-inspired.

4. List five things that you always have in your kitchen.
* Real butter. I can’t abide by the fake stuff. I say, use the real thing, in moderation.
* Dishes. I’ll be honest. I always have dirty dishes to do.
* Soy milk. I’m lactose intolerant. Real milk is out of the question now.
* Avocado oil. A new find. Flavorful, healthy, and has a great heat tolerance for cooking.
* Almonds. We have more cans of almonds than we should have. Such a yummy snack.

5. Share five places you would like to go on vacation.
* Hawaii. It’s the most popular vacation destination for the West Coast.
* Australia. Not keen about the huge spiders, but I miss Edmund McCombs and I’ve always wanted to see the country.
* Ireland. It’s where I’m from, sort of, give or take some potato famine, religious conversion, and migration.
* Japan. We’ve been planning a trip with friends for awhile now. It’s going to happen!
* Ibiza. I love 90’s club music and I’ve always been obsessed. It’s probably not as cool now, but I still want to go.

6. List five celebrities/public figures you’d like to meet.
* The Dali Lama
* Wil Wheaton
* Oprah
* Khloe Kardashian Odom
* Hillary Clinton

7. List five bands or artists you’d like to see perform live.
* U2
* Pearl Jam
* 311
* Spice Girls
* NIN
(Can you tell I loved the 90’s?)

8. List five TV shows that you don’t want to miss.
* The Vampire Diaries
* Once Upon a Time
* Archer
* Big Bang Theory
* Lost Girl

9. Share five things you wanted to do as a child.
* Become a scientist (It isn’t all it’s cracked up to be!)
* Move to California (DONE)
* Grow my hair out REALLY long. (Again, that’s a bad idea, KidLaurie.)
* Make friends with a whale.
* Write a book.

10. Share five things you hope to do in 2013.
* Travel home to see friends and family
* Finish 13.1
* Finish a sprint triathlon. (See: purpose of this blog and my nonsense.)
* Keep shrinking
* Launch my business.

One thought on “Friend Makin’ Monday: Five Things

Leave a Reply

