Double layer socks are the bomb diggity.

Sunday was another 5K. This was the Cardiff Kook Run. The Cardiff Kook is a fun statue of a surfer that the locals mostly hate. I think he’s fun, but apparently he’s not in the correct stance or something and that ruffles the feathers of purists. Anyway, he’s a local icon and he gets decorated nightly in costumes.

I had done NOTHING for training. I got sick at the end of January. I think it was Flu B, but since I no longer work in medical diagnostics, I didn’t have tests kicking around with which to test myself. (But, I used to!) I was really ill for a week, but improving – so I didn’t bother seeing the doctor. For a week after that I’ve been better, but not 100%. I’m still coughing and I’m still REALLY tired. I gave it a good try though!

I wore my new running shoes. I did see a podiatrist about new custom insoles, but they aren’t ready yet. I wore the new socks I picked up as well. And, I got new blisters. Again, the balls of both feet, and this time it was the left side that popped in the middle of things. It didn’t hurt as bad as last time. I knew that I should have prepared better and picked up some double layered socks.

The good news is, it was a fun race. I passed a lot of people, and not that many passed me. I was impressed at how well controlled I was running down hill. My husband was my pacing coach, since he has the fancy Garmin. Readers, I love my husband, but if I could have hit him during the race, I just might have. His method of motivation was to annoy the crap out of me.

I love a 5k with finisher's bling.  Even if I hold it backward for the photo op.

I love a 5k with finisher’s bling. Even if I hold it backward for the photo op.

I hit a PR, but I didn’t meet the goal I had set. Still, for no preparation and new blisters? Not that bad!

Oh, and that very day I DID pick up those double layered socks. And I wore them today. And they are magical.

Leave a Reply

