Friend Makin’ Mondays: Personal Quirks and Habits.

Happy Monday! I’ve got a lot going on this week and am getting ready for my friend Amanda to visit! So my self imposed dry lifestyle will likely END once she gets here. It’s okay, it was the goal I had set. It’s hard to build muscle and keep my nutrition in order when I am drinking.

This is me and Amanda last year during my summer trip to Maine.  It was so humid and hot! This was the last time we were together.  Soon to be reunited!

This is me and Amanda last year during my summer trip to Maine. It was so humid and hot! This was the last time we were together. Soon to be reunited!

I liked this set of questions because I do consider myself pretty quirky. A couple were tough! I hope you enjoy reading them. If you haven’t taken part in Friend Makin’ Mondays, here’s what you do. Copy the questions and answer them on your own blog. Then, link your post on All The Weigh so we can all read our answers.

Personal Quirks and Habits

1. Share one unique character trait that sets you apart from your friends. I remember EVERYTHING. And I’m constantly recalling old conversations, reminding my friends of the dumb stuff they did. No one can get away from their past with me around to retell it to you.

2. List at least two pet peeves that always aggravate you. I’m not the grammar police. But I AM the science patrol. When people call an intestinal virus “stomach flu”, it pretty much is like fingernails on a chalkboard. An entirely different pet peeve is heavy, thick lower eye liner. You just have to put a little pit to enhance the last line, ladies. We don’t live in ancient Egypt where we have to protect our eyes from the sun.

3. Is there a word or phrase that you say so regularly that people expect to hear it from you? I’m from Maine, so I drop wicked occasionally. My SoCal friends love that. For awhile “Oh dear” was a constant part of my vocabulary; to the point where I thought my husband was going to implode. I picked it up from a coworker.

4. Are you a risk taker, or do you typically play it safe? Maybe a little of both? I’m at heart, a rule follower and a goody two shoes. But when it comes to staying within those constraints, I’m pretty fearless. (Unless it’s heights or spiders.)

5. Describe your life as it was in high school. Are you the same person? Have you changed? Oh dear. (SEE?) I was the quiet girl, I had acquaintances, and a handful of friends. I was very good at school, but I struggled with going to class. I definitely think I suffered from depression for many, many years. I completely changes in college. I’m way more outgoing. I have many, many friends and it’s easy for me to relate to people. I’m more confident, I’m assertive, and I don’t stay in the corner anymore.

6. What is the craziest thing you’ve ever done that you’re glad you did? I quit my job, packed up my apartment of 5 years, and followed the guy I had been dating down to Atlanta, even though I didn’t have an engagement ring, or a job. It was the right decision. Being with him makes me a better version of myself, and we’re now married and equal partners in our lives. I needed to shake up my life at that point. My job was stagnant, my Master’s degree was at a permanent impasse, and my friends lives were going in different directions from mine.

7. Do you ever talk to yourself? If so, share an example. I talk to myself occasionally, I talk to my cat all the time. My Grammy always said it meant you had money in the bank. If I’m doing something dumb, or if I’m stressed, I’ll have a talk with myself in the mirror. I work out of my home a lot.

8. Share something you did that unexpectedly helped shape your life. I allowed myself to make some pretty bad decisions. Things I KNEW were wrong at the time, but I did them anyway. I was involved with 2 men in particular, one in college, one after college, who were definitely “bad boys.” They had values and behaviors contrary to my own and dating them pretty much made my parents absolutely furious. It was the rebellion that I needed to experience, after being the most well mannered kid. Both of them made me see a different point of view in life and challenged my own thoughts and ideals that I had. The break ups were devastating, but the lessons I learned made me grow in a way I never could without them.

9. Do you follow a strict routine, or are you a free spirit? Are you somewhere in between? I’m more of a free spirit, which drives my friends completely nuts. I try and schedule important things, but I think the best part of life is the experiences you have in between the things you think are important.

10. Share something about yourself that you hope will inspire others. I’m 36 years old. I have my fair share of issues about my body image, my self-esteem, boundaries, lots of stuff from childhood, etc. I did some intensive therapy once a week over a year ago. I came in pretty broken and left stronger that I could ever imagine. When you need help, ask for it. If you need to see someone to talk to, there is no shame. No one has a perfect life and everyone feels the way you feel sometimes. You need to take any and all necessary steps to make yourself feel better.

Leave a Reply

