Friend Makin’ Monday: Pondering Personal Thoughts

This has been a good week. My feet are recovering from last Sunday’s 5k and I’m really considering getting rid of the orthotics all together. I can’t find the right balance with my shoe problems! Training was great this week, and since my husband was home all week, we got our gym time in. He nagged me Saturday to go even when I felt like I had super low energy. It was just what I needed. He flew out for his first week of work, so we’ll see how our routines go. I’m trying to be confident!

FMM

If you’ve taken part in FMM then you know the rules. If you’re new, please take a moment to answer this week’s question on your own blog then add your link in the comments section here at: http://www.alltheweigh.com so we can all see your FMM questions and answers. Please invite your blog readers to add their links here too so everyone has to opportunity to be seen. The idea is to connect with other awesome bloggers so take a moment to post your own FMM post and comment on a couple of other posts. Now it’s time for this week’s topic!

1. How old would you feel if you didn’t know how old you are? I feel incredibly immature. Seriously. I don’t have my shit together at all and I’m still doing stupid things. So, basically, I feel like I’m in my early 20’s still.

2. Are you the kind of friend you’d want to have as a friend? I think I’m an excellent friend. I tend to keep a few friends near me who are very much like I think I am, or at least, how I hope I am. I’m definitely nicer to others than I am myself!

3. Look back at the last year. When did you feel most excited about something in your life? I was really excited to go back home to Maine last Spring. I’m doing it again this Spring. I miss my family and my friends, I miss the familiarity, I miss the connection. I love living in SoCal, but I get to feel like my authentic self when I’m back in the Pine Tree State.

4. Have you ever been with someone and not spoken a word, only to walk away thinking that was the best conversation ever? Hmm, probably not. I’m a talker. There’s never a time when I don’t speak a word.

5. If you won 100 million dollars Monday, would you continue doing whatever you usually do on Tuesdays? Absolutely, will the caveat that I’d call up my husband and tell him to get on the next plane home. I was going to invest in whatever start-up he wanted to run, as long as he came back home.

6. What would you do differently if you knew no one would judge you? I guess I’d dress a little more outlandishly. I love fashion, but I don’t really fit into sample sizes, if you know what I mean. So, yeah, I’d like to dress more “out there”. Not Lady Gaga level of out there, but definitely not conservative.

7. Share something you do differently than most people. I have an intense desire to know “the whole story” about things, people, etc. So, I tend to tell stories with a crazy amount of detail, because in my crazy brain, that’s what I’d want. If there’s something I have a question about, I research it. I’ve been accused of being a stalker because of my drive to totally figure a person out if there’s something that doesn’t seem right, or if I have a question about their personality. There’s no such thing as too much detail in my world.

8. What’s one thing that you really want to do that you’ve never done? I’ve never ran a whole 5k. My races are much more walking than running, and my opponent is always myself. I want to get to the point where I can actually RUN. I have work to do to get there.

9. If you had to move out of state right now, where would you move? I love California so.freaking.much that it’s kind of hard to imagine moving to another state. Maine is home, but there’s snow there, which I don’t like at all. Denver has as many sunny days as SD, but is also cold and snowy, with no ocean. So maybe Hawaii? It’s great to live in an endless summer.

10. What is the one thing that you’d like to change most about the world? I really just wish that before people open their mouths and spout off their opinions, they take a moment to think about what they are saying and acknowledge that in fact, they might not have all the answers. People don’t keep an open mind enough to be kind and considerate to others and I think that unfortunately, the internet has made that so much worse. I’d like to see people try and say to people’s faces the kind of vileness they think is okay to write in comments.

Don't let scowly face fool you.  He's really usually very happy!

Don’t let scowly face fool you. He’s really usually very happy!

13 thoughts on “Friend Makin’ Monday: Pondering Personal Thoughts

  1. hi! Stopping by from FMM!
    It’s awesome to have great friends, especially the ones who even if you don’t see them for years, you can pick right back up with like you just talked to each other yesterday. Those are the real friendships. The lasting ones. You know?

    • For sure. I’m really lucky that I’ve cultivated relationships with some really fantastic people in my life. I have one friend that I didn’t see for 2 years and when we were reunited it was like those years were a dream. Of course, modern technology helps you keep in touch!

  2. I always want to know more details! Whenever people tell me a funny story I’m always like “OMG. That’s so crazy! What happened next????” and they’re like “… nothing important.” “But what color were they wearing. What did they say next? How did this person you interacted with act in the future?” I can’t help myself. I want to live it like they lived it, I guess? I’m not sure where this compulsion comes from, haha.

    Anyway, stopping by for FMM! Great answers. These were particularly fun questions. I answered on my blog, too: http://delightfullyshrinking.com/2013/03/friend-makin-monday-pondering-personal-thoughts

    • I’m glad I’m not alone! I always feel like such a weirdo getting my details fix. My husband always says I start all stories “Well, first the dinosaurs roamed the Earth…” 🙂

    • I love California. I can’t imagine ever living through another winter again! I think Minnesota gets colder than Maine – I hope you get Spring soon! I think the Groundhog lied.

  3. Came by from FMM. I like your answer for #10, that would really change the world. I also wish you luck on the 5k. If you work for it, I have no doubt that you’ll attain it!

  4. Your answer to number 8 is a good one. At the moment I am working on my walking until I finally take the plunge and actually begin running again. Good Luck 😀

  5. I’m working on running a whole 5k myself. Running seems to be so hard for me and it’s not really my body that’s stopping me it’s my brain. I just get mentally fatigued so I stop and start walking. I’m frustrated. I want to RUN, RUN, RUN.

  6. Great answers! I especially love number 6 (I would totally dye my hair pink and black) and I agree wholeheartedly with number 10! You will definitely get there with the 5k (and beyond)! Just keep pushing!

  7. Stopping by from FMM. I also am hoping to run an entire 5K soon. It seems a little daunting, but I’m sure both you and I will be able to do it eventually!

Leave a Reply

