Friend Makin’ Mondays: Childhood Flashbacks

I’m back in San Diego after being in the Bay Area for a week. I’m found my husband’s new apartment, and got it partially furnished (some assembly required) before leaving. Phew – that was hard work for a week. I did a lot of walking around Downtown Palo Alto while sopping the area and visiting complexes. But I got a kick ass training session in when I got home on Saturday.

Happy to be home, and happy to be taking part in this FMM!

FMM

If you’ve taken part in FMM then you know the rules. If you’re new, please take a moment to answer this week’s question on your own blog then add your link in the comments section here at: http://www.alltheweigh.com so we can all see your FMM questions and answers. Please invite your blog readers to add their links here too so everyone has to opportunity to be seen. The idea is to connect with other awesome bloggers so take a moment to post your own FMM post and comment on a couple of other posts. Now it’s time for this week’s topic!

Childhood Flashbacks

1. Did you have a set bedtime as a child? If so, what was it? I think it was around 7:30 on week nights and a little later on weekends (probably mostly because of TV I wanted to watch). As I got older, that changed by if you *ever* called my house and wanted to talk to me after 9, my mom would rip you a new one.

2. Were you taught to be a member of the “Clean Plate Club?” Did it have affect your eating habits as an adult? In general, my parents had a thing about me eating as much as I agreed to take. And I do remember fighting them on some vegetables. To be fair, vegetables from a can are nasty. I also didn’t like to eat liver and I was made to eat that sometimes. I remember a couple of nights, sitting all alone at the kitchen table, everyone else having finished supper, and I was still sitting there because I wasn’t allowed to leave until I ate something I was refusing to. I’m stubborn, and I was as a kid. I don’t necessarily think that the demand to finish my meal impacted my eating habits. I think, for me, it was more about the kinds of foods, and feeling relief after eating things like sweets.

3. Share one thing that you were not allowed to do as a child. I wasn’t allowed to go into the woods by myself if I couldn’t still see my house through the trees. Yes, I was one of those country kids.

4. What is the cheapest gas price you can remember? I can remember sub $1.00 per gallon gas for sure, but I didn’t really pay close attention until I started driving.

5. What was your favorite thing on the playground? I like the swings and the slide. I was never a fan of the teeter-totter or the monkey bars.

6. Share one thing that your parents always made you do that you didn’t like doing. They made me stop talking during the local news at supper, especially the weather report. And I always had the most amazing things to say during the weather report!

7. Do you remember your first kiss? If so, share the details! I’m a late bloomer, guys. I was 19 and it was really stupid. The first one that really counted happened when I was 21, and my lips tingled the whole way home.

8. Did you prefer to play inside or outside? I was definitely an indoor kid. I read a lot.

9. What was your favorite TV show growing up? I really loved watching the Dukes of Hazard reruns.

10. Share one awesome childhood memory. We used to go camping every summer with my aunt, uncle and cousins. It was great to be all together and having fun at the lake. We’d even all pile in to my dad’s Suburban and go get ice cream cones. This is before there were seat belt laws, so all of us kids were just sitting around the back, screaming songs at each other. I love my cousins very much and I’ll always treasure those memories.

Bonus: Share a picture of yourself as a child.

This was me at 13.  Rocking the acid washed jeans, a spiral perm, and a shirt with skateboarding cats. (?)

This was me at 13. Rocking the acid washed jeans, a spiral perm, and a shirt with skateboarding cats. (?)

One thought on “Friend Makin’ Mondays: Childhood Flashbacks

Leave a Reply

