Why the hell have you been so silent?: Recap of the Spring

My posts folder is actually pretty clear that I have tried writing what I’ve been up to. I just haven’t been all that successful at publishing the posts. Maybe I haven’t finished my thoughts, maybe I was waiting on a photo. Either way, they never saw the little blue “publish” button hit, and that’s sad. Let’s take a moment to say sorry to the posts I abandoned.

So what HAVE I been up to? Well, the foot saga is ongoing. I’ve taken the new orthotics back to get further cushioned because I just couldn’t adjust to them. I also bought a pair of neutral running shoes. Those actually feel pretty wonderful. I’m at a loss of what the RIGHT answer is for my feet, but I’m just going to have to do what I think is best everyday and hope that it works out. I’m under no illusions. A lot of my issue is extra body weight. When that is lower, the feet will be happier, but it’s a Catch 22 in the meantime.

Me and my friend Michele at the Encinitas 5k

Me and my friend Michele at the Encinitas 5k

I’ve been doing 5k races. I did the Carlsbad 5000 in April and Encinitas 5k in May. I went home to Maine for a couple of weeks and did the Urban Runoff 5k with Portland friends. And I made new friends, as I tend to do. I have the Bolt to the Q upcoming. I’ve been focusing less on time and just on completion without injury. Funny enough, my times actually haven’t been that bad. I had signed up for the Rock n Roll San Diego Half Marathon this month, but I dropped out of the race. I didn’t get my mileage up with all my foot issues. I could have just walked it bloody, but I really didn’t want to ruin the rest of my week with hamburger feet. So, I supported my friends instead! And my partner in crime for this event got food poisoning the night before, so I would have been solo in my wave anyway.

My personal training regimen has been going well. My trainer is the gym’s fitness director and he’s been working on a group circuit training class, and I’ve been his guinea pig. So, there’s 3 trainers for the class and me. So far I’m the only student that has stuck. The good thing is, it’s all been free for a trial period! So basically I’ve been getting 2 -3 hours of personal training every week. It’s also been good to work with new people. They each push me in a different way and have their own style. I’ve had the chance to learn a lot and do things I didn’t know I could do before.

I've been surprised at the things I can do.

I’ve been surprised at the things I can do.

I also ATTENDED a triathlon. Make no mistake, I haven’t forgotten the reason for the blog. My husband did the duathlon and I went to support him. It was sobering. Even if I sign up for a super sprint, it’s still a big deal. This is still my goal, but I think that I have a lot further to go to get there than I thought.

Leave a Reply

