My Paleo Diet: Day 11 – Worried, Sleepy and Determined

This is Day 11 of the Whole 30 challenge I have set for myself. So far I have to say, it hasn’t been awful and I haven’t had even 1 slip up. I find that instead of obsessing about what I can’t eat, my mind instead gets worried about what I may accidentally eat. Eleven days is no joke and I don’t want to slip up.

Maybe this is lame, but I'm wearing this bracelet the for the Whole 30.  It's a good reminder to stay on track!

Maybe this is lame, but I’m wearing this bracelet the for the Whole 30. It’s a good reminder to stay on track!

I didn’t realize just how many dishes I’d be having to clean on this plan! I have eaten out twice in the past 11 days, so that’s a whole lot of meals cooked at home. If you know me, you know I hate doing dishes. But especially since I set a good deal of our extra kitchen stuff up to Northern California for my husband’s apartment, I have to keep on top of the dishes if I want to cook. And I don’t have the luxury of saying “Screw it” and getting a slice of pizza instead.

How do I feel? I actually do feel smaller. I know that sounds odd. My pants slide on easier and when I put my hands on my hips (which I do a lot) they seem like they are closer to my center than before. I have noticed that my sleep has improved. That’s a blessing! I don’t normally sleep terribly, but I do have trouble falling asleep – especially on nights that I am here alone.

I can’t say that I’ve hit that penultimate point where I feel awesome and can’t imagine going back to eating grains and sugars. I’m not totally sold yet. I’m giving it the 30 days, and I’m not going to give up, but I don’t see the huge changes that other people said they have. My digestive and GI issues persist even though I’m not eating dairy or grain at all. I had a day of low energy, a day of full-feeling ears, and today I’ve had a sore throat. I can’t blame it on A/C so I’m wondering if this is the mythic “paleo flu” I’ve heard about.

People have strong opinions about diets. My trainers are THRILLED that I’m trying this. My doctor was skeptical and offered me a referral to another program. I told her that I was seeing this through and I asked “How bad can a diet of lean protein and vegetables and fruit be?” I’ll give her an update in a few months. My husband has been very supportive, even researching and cooking me a paleo friendly pancake. He’s now researching crepes for the weekend. I have not thoroughly cleaned out my kitchen of everything not on plan. He’s eating most meals with me, but he is getting the stuff he wants, too. It’s been fine. I did ask him to finish or throw out the candied ginger before he left this week because I don’t trust myself around it. I have told a few friends what I’m up to. No one has told me I’m crazy, but they don’t have to. I can tell by the silence and the look on their faces. That’s fine, really. I’m not doing this for anyone else, I’m doing it for myself anyway.

Leave a Reply

