My Paleo Diet: Day 29 – The Hardest Mile

I am *almost* done the Whole30/Paleo cleanse. Honestly, this whole thing has been easier and harder than I imagined.

I haven’t felt awesome this whole month. Most proponents of primal eating say that you will feel awesome, have energy, focus, and tiger blood. That hasn’t happened, but there have been a few good spots. I think my GI stuff in generally improved. Being so diligent has made me much more aware of mindless eating patterns and cravings. My sleep has been pretty good overall. And smells don’t bother me quite as much. That sounds really strange, I know. But the natural body products area of any health food store gives me a stomach ache and a headache at the same time. I always have thought it was because I’m allergic to patchouli. But even though my sense of smell is the same, the smells aren’t hitting me the same way. Randomly I have my c reactive protein tested at the start of this, and I had to repeat some tests. At the beginning it was 1.1 and now it’s 0.9. It’s still higher than the desired range, but I have to think that 30 days of this diet has helped my internal inflammation.

The last few days have been the hardest since the first week because I know it’s almost over. Not only is it over, but I’m going out of town for a week. I don’t want to stock up on lots of fridge food that will go bad, and I’m just losing my kitchen creativity and drive. And things are starting to look REALLY good. Hamburgers with buns look delectable, I’m dreaming about pizza, and in the back of my brain I hear “Well, screw it, you’re almost done. It’s not like you’ve had huge changes. Let’s just do whatever we want.” 2 more days, I’ve promised to hold out for 2 more days.

I can’t say if I’ve lost weight. I think clothes are fitting better, but the plan doesn’t let you weigh yourself until the end. So, that’s where I’m at.

You little devil, you.

You little devil, you.

Leave a Reply

