What’s Next?

That’s exactly what I’m trying to figure out. My Whole30 was so eye opening. It was successful. I made in 30 days staying as on plan. Whole30 is really, really strict – even for Paleo. I gave up chocolate for 30 days – that right there is a big deal. I lost 14 pounds. Even though in the midst of it all I didn’t feel like my GI symptoms improved – as soon as I had my first non-Paleo meal, I felt the difference. And, oddly, my lactose intolerance has been minimal since I finished the cleanse. That’s crazy.

I’m still doing my circuit training classes twice a week. Pretty soon it should be more than me and the trainer du jour. My main trainer – who is also the club’s fitness director, is going to really start pushing the classes and having some cool things going on. He wants to do one class a week out on the beach volleyball court. Circuit in the sand! So, it won’t be (basically) personal training twice a week anymore. But being with others will probably be really good for me. I’m pretty competitive, so this might really kick my butt.

I’ve started wearing my Fitbit again. I have yet to make it to 10,000 steps in a day but I’m easily getting in my 10 flights of stairs. I think that I just have to make a bit more effort with the walks. Fitbit is a really great way to see how you are doing. I’m a data person, so being able to look at a chart at the end of the day that says how I’ve been doing, it’s powerful.

Planning is something I pretty much suck at when it comes to meals. I don’t keep lists for shopping, I really go off my whims easily. I picked up a meal planning pad at Marshall’s the other day. I’m going to see if I can make it work.

Picked this up for $2.99 in orange.  It's on Amazon for $8.99! It's simple, but I think it could work for me.

Picked this up for $2.99 in orange. It’s on Amazon for $8.99! It’s simple, but I think it could work for me.

For awhile now I’ve been thinking about Shakeology. I follow a Beachbody coach named Jamie DeLorme on Facebook and she offered some free sample to try. It’s not bad, and I like how it’s pretty packed with nutrients. I think I’m going to give it a try, along with a 60 day challenge. One reason Weight Watchers worked for me in the past is the accountability – the support. So I think that this will fill that role for me. Especially now that my husband and I spend 5 days a week apart (and he’s totally on another fitness level as me, anyway!) and I really don’t have close friends around me that are in my same situation. It will be good to connect with others in my tribe.

We're doing fine with the distance, but that doesn't mean we don't have bad days, or bad weeks.

We’re doing fine with the distance, but that doesn’t mean we don’t have bad days, or bad weeks.

I’ve also decided to embrace obsession. I obviously want to keep a balance in all things, but I can’t deny that I could use some single-minded focus right now.

Leave a Reply

