Friend Makin’ Mondays: My Community

I’m dealing with some major exhaustion today! I’m considering getting another B-6/B-12 injection this week to see if it perks me up. What do you think about vitamin injections? I’m pretty much at the point right now where I’ll try anything!

Here we go.

FMM

If you’ve taken part in FMM then you know the rules. If you’re new, please take a moment to answer this week’s question on your own blog then add your link in the comments section here at: http://www.alltheweigh.com so we can all see your FMM questions and answers. Please invite your blog readers to add their links here too so everyone has to opportunity to be seen. The idea is to connect with other awesome bloggers so take a moment to post your own FMM post and comment on a couple of other posts. Now it’s time for this week’s topic!

My Community

1. Where were you born? Did you grow up there? I was born in Bangor, Maine. I grew up in a very small town called Glenburn right outside of Bangor. When I say small, I mean it. We don’t have a stoplight. There is no proper name for my town on Google Maps. I went to high school in Bangor, so I always identify with the city more anyway.

2. Tell us about your favorite spot in your city. I live in San Diego now. It’s as fabulous as you’ve heard. I think my favorite spot is San Elijo State Beach. It was the first beach we went to play at. We live near there now and go there to run and walk. We go there to splash around and connect with the water. It also has KILLER stairs to get up and down.

Up and down the stairs gets tiring!

Up and down the stairs gets tiring!

3. Do you volunteer for any organizations? If so, will you tell us about it? I’m a very proud Alpha Phi, which is a international women’s fraternity. Yes, I’m a sorority girl. I’m the President of the alumnae group here and have been active for 4 years. I’ve also been a part of the San Diego Alumnae Panhellenic, which is a group made up of women from a bunch of different sororities. SDAP gives away merit scholarships to young women in the area and it’s a great way to give back, show the public what being in a sorority is all about.

Alpha Phis and friends at the SD Padres!

Alpha Phis and friends at the SD Padres!

4. Tell us about your favorite local restaurant. I love Rosanna’s Pasta Shop. I only allow myself to go there once a week, otherwise I’d eat every lunch there, get sick of it, or send myself in to a binge-a-thon. It’s a charming family-run restaurant owned by an Italian-American family who hails from Venice. They make the best sandwiches outside of Maine. Their homemade pasta is amazing – to eat there or to take home and cook yourself.

5. Has your city ever experienced tragedy? If so, how did it recover? San Diego has wild fires every few years. I haven’t seen one yet, and I’m thankful. There’s no getting away from the fire, you just have to get safe and rebuild.

6. Share at least one unique thing about your neighborhood. My little corner of the neighborhood used to be mobster territory! All the homes around my complex look kind of imposing, well, there’s a good reason for those big thick walls. In the 70’s this is where mobsters went to their vacation homes.

This is my condo complex.  With tennis courts on top of the parking garage!

This is my condo complex. With tennis courts on top of the parking garage!

7. If you could do one small thing to change your community, what would you do? I’d like to see more EV stations so that people with electric cars could better utilize them. There’s definitely a growing trend around here for electric cars!

8. The Powerball is currently up to 400 million dollars. Would you move to a different place if you won? No. I pretty much live in paradise. I’m lucky to live here. BEYOND lucky. Powerball would let me visit other places, but San Diego is where it’s at.

2 thoughts on “Friend Makin’ Mondays: My Community

    • Oh gosh! I’m so sorry to hear about your migraines and chocolate. My dad has given up chocolate and peanut butter for his. My migraines have gotten 90% less frequent since I moved to the West Coast. I think barometric pressure is my biggest trigger.

Leave a Reply

