Remember when…

Remember when you saw that photo?  The one you wanted to burn?  You thought you looked just terrible.  And then a few years later you saw it and thought, “Wow, that wasn’t so bad, I actually looked pretty cute.  And I looked like I was having fun.”

Don’t you wish you could go back and tell that version of yourself to smile at the photo and be glad she was there, in that moment?  Instead of picking out the flaws, look at where she was, who she was with, and hold on because she may never be in that place with those people again.

Christmas Day 2013

Christmas Day 2013

As 2013 winds down, I just find myself being very grateful.  This year has not been a series of wins.  I’ve had some health concerns, some financial set backs, my relationship has been tested, some friendships torched, and I’ve lost some dear friends to death.  I’ve done stupid things.  I’ve said unkind words.

Despite it all, I’m still grateful.  I made it through the other side.  I’ve continued to remain positive as much as possible and make choices that are right for me.  I’ve made course corrections.  I’ve become a friend to myself, finally.  I’ve been present much more than ever.  I’ve been kinder, the crap language that was my inner monologue to myself is more of a whisper lately.  I’ve learned from mistakes, I’ve apologized and for the first time I’ve really been successful at moving beyond.

If you’re reading this, I just want to say thank you!  Blogging has been some therapeutic for me this  year and if you’ve read anything here, I hope that something I’ve said has stuck with you! I’ve gotten a lot of good from reading other people’s thoughts and taking away from their lessons.

Looking forward to a wonderful 2014.

Laurie

Leave a comment