My Thoughts About Working Out at Home

Right now I’m a part of a new Facebook Challenge Group for 90 days.  There is no requirement to do any specific kind of exercise in this group.  You get to pick but you have to be consistent!  It’s a pretty big group so as you can imagine there’s a lot of different exercises going on.

I’m doing P90X3, and I’m on week 2 and I’m really enjoying it.  I tried doing Turbo Fire in the past and honestly, I just had trouble getting in to it.  I was me, not you, Chalene Johnson – I swear.  When I fell off that wagon, after a couple of days, every time I tried, I always went back to what I knew.  The gym.  My trainers, my treadmill, what I felt comfortable with.  And honestly, that was at best working out 4 days a week.

Happy to have finished a workout!

Happy to have finished a workout!

So what’s different this time around?  I am.  My husband and I have decided to do P90X3 together and we have a standing date in the living room every morning.  The alarm goes off, we make sure both of us are getting up.  We drink our Shakeology and then we bust out our workout in 30 min.  I treat it like an appointment – it’s a non-negotiable part of the day.  I feel relief when it’s over, but I also find that it really energizes me.

Last week, one day I did a P90X3 workout, took a break, had a Kind Bar, and then went to circuit training.  It was one of the best sessions I’ve had.  I was bouncing around from station to station.  I killed 4 rounds of 2 circuits and she had to give me another mini circuit to eat up my hour!

A lot of people don’t work out at home, and I get it.  I really do.  It’s really easy to not get off the couch.  When your butt is in the car driving to the gym and there are people waiting for you – yeah, it’s more likely that you’ll end up working out.  But if you make a mental commitment to see a program through, and you have a source of accountability, whether it’s a spouse, a friend, or a Facebook group, becoming a home workout person CAN happen.

This doesn’t mean I’m cancelling my gym membership and quit my other workouts.  I’m just at the point where I can handle two-a-days sometime.  I’m getting the best of both worlds.  A consistent workout at home, going with a trusted program.  And then circuit training, yoga, and TRX with 3 experts who watch me, make sure I’m doing things right, yell at me to work harder, and generally push me further than  I think I can go.  Tony Horton on TV won’t do that, sadly.

3 thoughts on “My Thoughts About Working Out at Home

  1. Thank you very much, I’am really glad that I’m following you. I’m still figuring out. Just wanted to say that you are an awesome blogger, Inspiring and May you inspire more readers essentially perfectly ok. greetings from Gede Prama 🙂

Leave a Reply

