What the hell did I sign up for?

Tomorrow I’m doing the Rock n Roll San Diego Half Marathon Relay with my dude.  I’m all in.  But I’d be lying if I told you I was prepared.  I am not.

My last 5K - friends, fun, but not a great pace.

My last 5K – friends, fun, but not a great pace.

When I started this blog I was trying to develop a love affair with running.  I don’t necessarily think that happened.  I acknowledge that running is helpful for building cardio endurance, and in general, it’s probably a good life skill.  Eventually we are all running from or to something!  Races became a way to make sure I got a decent workout and to be able to track my progress.  It was fun, it was something I could do with friends, or my dude – and sometimes I did it all alone.

The 5K distance is easy, I did a 10K in December with little trouble.  I should be fine, right?  I’m not so sure.  I’ve scaled down workouts and ramped up nutrition lately.  I’ve been putting just 4 hours a week in.  That’s a BIG change from where I was in November.  But, I generally feel pretty good.  I hope that I am just psyching myself out on this.

However, I am leaner than I ever have been.  I have a pretty physically demanding job now that I’ve adapted very well to.  I can go hard for 2 or more hours.  I’m only in for 6 miles.  I can *do* this.

This race is going to be probably only one of 3 I do this year.  That’s a big change from one a month that I tried to do a few years ago.  I have less t-shirts and medals to show for it, but I concentrate more on the performance.  I’m going to bed early, I’ve been avoiding dairy.  I’m trying to hydrate.  My infection still hasn’t cleared 100% and the antibiotics are going to make sunscreen really important.

So here I go (tomorrow).  I’ll see you on the other side of the finish.

One thought on “What the hell did I sign up for?

  1. A runner counts the miles they complete, not the number of medals they gain or the number of t-shirts they acquire. A runner runs. Not for glory, not for greatness. Not to say to their friends they ran so many races. They run because they recognize the greatest obstacle isn’t another runner or a hilly course — the obstacle is them.

    Running reminds us that the body can be stronger than the mind. The mind gives up; it tells your muscles to quit, make your legs heavy. It doesn’t matter if you run one race or one hundred. You carry the tradition of 10,000 years…we run because there is no greater challenge then ourselves.

Leave a Reply

