Officially a PiYo LIVE Instructor

It feels like I’ve meant to write this blog entry forever! At Beachbody Summit in Nashville I became a PiYo LIVE instructor.  I can lead classes now!  This is really exciting and actually fulfills a dream of mine that I never thought I’d reach.

I’m going to put this out there – yes, I have the audacity to be a group fitness instructor as well as a health and wellness coach.  Sure, I’m not a finished product – but will anyone ever be? Maybe I can start giving back NOW instead of waiting until a period of time in the sometime future where I feel I deserve this.

That’s crap.  I work hard.  I don’t deserve anything.  I’ve earned this and I intend to keep earning it every day.

Back in 1998 when I started going to Gold’s Gym in Bangor, ME I took Step Aerobics from a woman named Gina Toman.  She quickly became a mentor to me, whether she knew it or not.  The other group exercise instructors there as well totally inspired me.  But Gina was one of a kind.  I knew that leading a group class someday was something that I needed to do.

So why PiYo?  First of all – I love it.  Yoga is a passion of mine and Pilates is something I wish to improve at, so I had the interest when I started.  But PiYo is so much more than Yogalates. It really makes you FEEL like an athlete.  Emphasizing strength and flexibility, but sweating up a storm to good music – incorporating elements of dance and (believe it or not) gymnastics – it’s the whole package.

All official

All official

Serving people who do not feel that they can handle an intense group class is something I am excited about.  I’m still struggling with the moves, I modify. I literally have body parts in the way from doing some kick throughs.  The greatest part of PiYo is that it’s accessible to everyone.  There’s modifications YOU can do.  There are ways to push yourself, get a good workout, and be safe.  The best part is, at the end you are accomplished.

I am interested in making people feel like they can do more than they thought they could.  There is bliss to totally nailing Warrior 2.  There is a high you get from knowing you did more today than yesterday.  I want people to believe they can do something scary and outside their comfort zone.  I’m sure stretching outside of my own comfort zone with being an instructor!

Now if only I could get the musicality and cueing down.  🙂  I plan on making friends practice with me a lot in the coming weeks.  You’ve been warned.

Leave a Reply

